CBAC Announcements  




Graduate Student Wandi Zhu Wins Best Poster Award

Wandi Zhu, a Ph.D. student in Jonathan Silva's lab, won the best poster award at the Washington University School of Medicine's Cardiovascular Research Day on Friday, October 23, 2015. Her poster title was, "How mutations to the Nav β1 and β3 subunits cause Atrial Fibrillation and alter the Nav1.5 responses to anti-arrhythmics"




Cardiac Arrhythmias: the Genes, the Cell, and the Clinician

On Friday, August 28th, the Cardiac Bioelectricity & Arrhythmia Center (CBAC) of Washington University held a one-day symposium celebrating its 10th anniversary. The symposium addressed basic research and clinical issues in the field of cardiac arrhythmias. Faculty included speakers from
Washington University and guests from all around the world.

Slideshow and More Information



Graduate Student First Author on Paper

A recent paper, “Cardiac Electrophysiologic Substrate Underlying the ECG Phenotype and Electrogram Abnormalities in Brugada Syndrome Patients” has been accepted for publication in the journal Circulation. The paper describes research conducted by Junjie Zhang, a PhD student in Yoram Rudy's lab. Junjie used ECGI to study the arrhythmic substrate in the hearts of 25 patients with a hereditary rhythm disorder, called the Brugada syndrome associated with an increased incidence of sudden death.

Additional authors include CBAC Director Yoram Rudy, members Phillip Cuculich, Jennifer Silva, Daniel Cooper, Mitchell Faddis, alumnus Thomas O'Hara, Frédéric Sacher, Kurt Hoffmayer, Maria Strom, Mélèze Hocini, Michel Haïssaguerre, and Melvin Scheinman.




Medical researchers receive NIH grant for summer institute program

D.C. Rao, Ph.D., director of the Division of Biostatistics, professor of biostatistics and of biostatistics in genetics and psychiatry at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, and CBAC member Victor G. Davila-Roman, MD, professor of medicine, of anesthesiology and of radiology, have received a four-year, $1.28 million grant from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for a program titled “PRIDE Summer Institute in Cardiovascular Genetic Epidemiology.”



NIH grant to support study of heart’s inner mechanisms

Findings could lead to better treatment for cardiac arrhythmia and long QT syndrome

CBAC member Jianmin Cui, Ph.D. has received a nearly $1.7 million grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to study the molecular bases for the function of potassium channels vital for the heart, brain, inner ear and other tissues.




Wickline receives chancellor’s innovation award

CBAC member Samuel A. Wickline, MD, received the Chancellor’s Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Washington University in St. Louis. Wickline, the James R. Hornsby Family Professor of Biomedical Sciences, was presented with the honor at the Faculty Achievement Awards ceremony.




Phillip Bayly Receives Distinguished Faculty Award

CBAC Member Philip Bayly, PhD, the Lilyan and E. Lisle Hughes Professor of Mechanical Engineering and chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science in the School of Engineering & Applied Science received the Distinguished Faculty Award. This award recognizes outstanding commitment to the intellectual and personal development of students.




Rudy Receives University of Oxford Visiting Professorship

Yoram Rudy, the Fred Saigh Distinguished Professor of Engineering and CBAC Director, was conferred the title of Visiting Professor in Computational Medicine by the University of Oxford, UK. The appointment is in the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Division, and in the Department of Computer Science. In this capacity, Professor Rudy will deliver lectures and provide guidance to research at Oxford in computational biosciences and cardiac physiology.



George receives grant to study new drugs on heart tissue

As part of a national effort to predict drug safety and effectiveness, CBAC member Steven C. George, MD, PhD, has received a grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to continue developing an integrated in vitro model of perfused tumor and cardiac tissue.

George is chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Elvera & William Stuckenberg Professor of Technology & Human Affairs.




Wang receives prestigious NIH BRAIN initiative award

CBAC member, Lihong Wang, PhD, has received a prestigious BRAIN Initiative Award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH).




George named Stuckenberg Professor of Technology & Human Affairs

Steven C. George, MD, PhD, CBAC member and chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis, has been named the Elvera & William Stuckenberg Professor of Technology & Human Affairs.




Damiano named chief of cardiothoracic surgery

CBAC member, Ralph J. Damiano Jr., MD, has been named chief of the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.




Mann Elected Member of the Association of American Physicians

Douglas Mann, MD was elected to membership in the prestigious Association of American Physicians at its annual meeting on April 25 - 27 in Chicago. Each year, individuals having attained excellence in achieving pursuit of medical knowledge, and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and their application to clinical medicine, are recognized by nomination for membership by the Council of the Association.



Rudy Awarded $1.52M NIH Grant

Dr. Yoram Rudy, The Fred Saigh Distinguished Professor and Director, Cardiac Bioelectricity and Arrhythmia Center was awarded a $1,520,000 four year grant (years 21-24 of the award) from the NIH – National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute for the project titled “Cardiac Excitation and Arrhythmias.” The overall objective of this research is to provide mechanistic understanding of the relationships between the dynamic molecular structure of cardiac ion-channel proteins during their gating process and their function as charge carriers during the whole-cell action potential (AP).



Jay Receives $400K Established Investigator Award

Patrick Jay, MD, PhD, received the Established Investigator Award by the American Heart Association (AHA), a $400,000 five-year award, for the project titled, “Maternal Age: A Modifiable Risk Factor for Congenital Heart Disease”

2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

Copyright ©2005-2014 CBAC. All rights reserved.
Contact Webmaster