CBAC Announcements  



Damiano named president of American Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine

Diane L. Damiano, Ph.D., has been elected president of the American Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine. Damiano is research associate professor of neurology and adjunct associate professor of physical therapy.



Nerbonne awarded $1,330,417

Jeanne M. Nerbonne, Ph.D., Alumni Endowed Professor of Molecular Biology and Pharmacology, has received a four-year, $1,330,417 grant from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute for research titled “Ion Channel Regulation and Modulation in Cardiac Muscle.


Nichols appointed to Carl F. Cori professorship

Colin G. Nichols, Ph.D., has been named the first Carl F. Cori Professor at the School of Medicine.



Kovacs awarded $330,000

Sandor Kovacs, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of medicine, has received a two-year, $330,000 grant from the Barnes-Jewish Hospital Foundation for Cardiovascular Biophysics Research.


Wang receives Beare professorship

At a Nov. 29 ceremony in Uncas A. Whitaker Hall, Lihong Wang became the first Gene K. Beare Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the School of Engineering & Applied Science (SEAS). Wang is a leading researcher on new methods of cancer imaging.



Jost named president of the Radiological Society of North America Board of Directors

R. Gilbert Jost, M.D., the Elizabeth Mallinckrodt Professor and head of the Department of Radiology, was named president of the Radiological Society of North America Board of Directors in November at the society’s annual meeting. The group is an organization of more than 37,000 radiologists, radiation oncologists and related scientists committed to promoting excellence in radiology through education and research, with the ultimate goal of improving patient care. Jost’s presidency will last a year.

Nehorai one of two honored for outstanding technical contributions

Arye Nehorai, Ph.D., the Eugene and Martha Lohman Professor and chair of the Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering in the School of Engineering & Applied Science, has won the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers’ Signal Processing Society (SPS) 2007 Technical Achievement Award.



Rudy inducted as Fellow of the Academy of Science of St. Louis

Yoram Rudy, Ph.D., director of the Cardiac Bioelectricity and Arrhythmia Center, the Fred Saigh Distinguished Professor of Engineering and professor of cell biology and physiology, of medicine, of radiology and of pediatrics, was inducted on January 22 in a ceremony at the Donald Dandforth Plant Science Center for achievement in biomedical engineering.

  Current Year | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005
Copyright ©2005-2017 CBAC. All rights reserved.
Contact Webmaster