CBAC Announcements  



Damiano named "Health Care Hero"

Ralph J. Damiano Jr., M.D., the John M. Shoenberg Professor of Surgery at the School of Medicine and cardiac surgery chief at Barnes-Jewish Hospital, was named the physician “Health Care Hero” by the St. Louis Business Journal for his work in advancing surgical treatments for atrial fibrillation. The award was presented at a ceremony Oct. 2.

Wang awarded $2,487,784

Lihong Wang, Ph.D., the Gene K. Beare Distinguished Professor in Biomedical Engineering, has received a four-year, $2,487,784 grant from the National Institutes of Health for research titled “Recovery of Optical Absorption Coefficient in Quantitative Photoacoustic Imaging.”


Van Hare appointed director of pediatric cardiology

George Van Hare, M.D., has been appointed director of the Division of Pediatric Cardiology at the School of Medicine and the Louis Larrick Ward Chair in Pediatric Cardiology at St. Louis Children’s Hospital.



Nehorai awarded $363,222

Arye Nehorai, Ph.D., the Eugene and Martha Lohman Professor and chair of the Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering, has received a three-year, $363,222 grant from the Office of Naval Research for research titled “MIMO Radar Processing with Realistic Clutter Modeling.”


O’Sullivan named dean of joint engineering program

Joseph A. O’Sullivan, Ph.D., the Samuel C. Sachs Professor of Electrical Engineering, has been appointed dean of the University of Missouri-St. Louis/Washington University Joint Undergraduate Engineering Program, according to Salvatore P. Sutera, Ph.D., interim dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science.



Dr. Yoram Rudy Awarded a $1,362,285 Four Year Grant

Dr. Yoram Rudy was awarded a $1,362,285 four year grant, (years 24-27 of a merit award to Dr. Rudy) from the NIH, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute for his Inverse and Forward Problems in Electrocardiography project. Research under this grant will continue the development of Electrocardiographic Imaging (ECGI), a novel noninvasive imaging modality for Cardiac Electrophysiology and Arrhythmia. Read more about this project on the Rudylab website.


Rudy elected as the Hein J.J. Wellens Distinguished Profesor in Cardiology at the University of Maastricht, The Netherlands

Yoram Rudy, Ph.D., the Fred Saigh Distinguished Professor of Engineering, professor of biomedical engineering, of cell biology & physiology, of medicine, of radiology and of pediatrics, and director of the Cardiac Bioelectricity and Arrhythmia Center (CBAC), was elected as the Hein J.J. Wellens Distinguished Professor in Cardiology at the University of Maastricht, The Netherlands. Rudy will conduct workshops on cardiac electrophysiology at the Cardiovascular Research Institute Maastricht (CARIM) during September 2008 and May 2009. He will also host visiting scientists from Maastricht University in his WUSTL laboratory as part of a CBAC-CARIM collaboration in heart research.


Schuessler awarded $1,710,000

Richard B. Schuessler, Ph.D., research associate professor of surgery (cardiothoracic surgery), has received a five-year, $1,710,000 grant from the National Institutes of Health for research titled “The Role of Inflammation in Postoperative Atrial Fibrillation.”


Cui awarded $35,000

Jianmin Cui, Ph.D., associate professor of biomedical engineering, has received a $35,000 National Institutes of Health R01 grant, subcontracted from the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, for a collaborative research titled “Mechanisms of Ultrasound Mediated Intracellular Drug & Gene Delivery.”


Schaffer named Minnich professor

Jean E. Schaffer, M.D., has been named the Virginia Minnich Distinguished Professor in Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.



Kovacs Sjostrand lecture titled “What you always wanted to know about diastolic function, but were afraid to ask!”

Sandor J. Kovacs, Ph.D., M.D., associate professor of medicine and director of the Cardiovascular Biophysics Laboratory, gave the Sjostrand lecture titled “What you always wanted to know about diastolic function, but were afraid to ask!” Nov. 29 at the 200th anniversary of the Swedish Society of Medicine in Stockholm. In addition, he was awarded the Medal of the Swedish Society of Medicine by Hakan Arheden, M.D., Ph.D., president of the Society for Clinical Physiology


Jost named honorary member of the European Society of Radiology

R. Gilbert Jost, M.D., the Elizabeth E. Mallinckrodt Professor of Radiology and director of the Edward Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, has been named honorary member in the European Society of Radiology. Jost was one of three physicians to receive the honor at the society’s annual meeting in Vienna, Austria, in March. The society has more than 30,000 members.


Thomas O'Hara Awarded a Two-Year Grant

Thomas O'Hara was awarded two-year grant from the Predoctoral Fellowship Program of the Midwest Affiliate Research Committee of the American Heart Association for his "Mathematical Model of Human Cardiac Ventricular Action Potential" project.

  Current Year | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005
Copyright ©2005-2017 CBAC. All rights reserved.
Contact Webmaster